Employees should expect no less than a fair wage for a fair day’s work. Both New Jersey Law and Federal law
provide such protections. Employers violate Wage & Hour laws in numerous different ways. The first and most
well-known wage law is legally-mandated minimum wage. As of April 2017, the Federal minimum wage was $7.25
per hour and the New Jersey minimum wage was $8.44 per hour. If an employer offers or pays less than
the minimum wage, it is a violation of Wage & Hour laws.
Overtime Laws require employers to pay 1½ times an employee’s hourly rate for any hours worked over 40 hours.
Under some circumstances, an employer may offer compensation time in lieu of overtime, but even in those cases,
the compensation time must be provided at 1½ times the standard hourly rate. Some employees may be exempt from
Employers do not have to pay certain employees who fall into categories such as upper managers, commissioned
sales employees, computer professionals, and certain farm workers. If you have questions regarding whether
your employment is exempt from overtime, please give us a call and we can discuss the specifics of your job
and help you determine whether your employer should be paying overtime. There are numerous other laws
relating to Wage & Hour, including the New Jersey Wage Payment Act which requires wages to be paid on
time and at periodic intervals, prevailing wage laws that provide much higher minimum wages for employees
working on certain government projects, and laws that protect wages that are included in certain contracts.
If you are concerned that you are not being paid properly, we can help.